Mackay, Isaac & Whitsunday

The Mackay, Isaac & Whitsunday region is centred on the coastal city of Mackay and extends some 300 km inland. It contains the Whitsunday Islands group and the coastal towns of Proserpine, Bowen and Sarina. The coastal areas are densely covered in sugar cane farms, while the less densely populated inland areas have several mining communities.

Photo by Tony Hisgett

Home » State » QLD » Region » Mackay, Isaac & Whitsunday

The Isaac Region is a local government area located in Central Queensland, Queensland, Australia created in March 2008 as a result of the report of the Local Government Reform Commission released in July 2007.

The Mackay Region is a local government area located in North Queensland, established in 2008 after the merger of the City of Mackay, the Shire of Milani and the Shire of Sarina.