Home » Type » Councils » Alpine Shire Council

Alpine Shire Council

The Alpine Shire is a local government area in the Hume region of Victoria, Australia, located in the north-east part of the state. It covers an area of 4,787 square kilometres (1,848 sq mi) and at the 2016 Census had a population of over 12,000.

It includes the towns of Bright, Dinner Plain, Mount Beauty and Myrtleford. There are two unincorporated areas within the shire: the areas around Mount Hotham and Falls Creek.

4,787 square km
Approx population: